DIY Magazine Clutch

Image

One weekend, we went out to go to a traditional market and found some shops of old magazines.It brought me an idea to make one thing that I’ve always wanted; a magazine clutch. So I purchased some old editions of ‘DEWI’ (Indonesian prestigious fashion magazine).

Image

I have seen so many tutorials on magazine clutch but a video tutorial from Fashion Riot seems very easy to be make and using some materials that available in Indonesia. Unfortunately the clutch from Fashion Riot were too slim. I need something that I can throw some stuffs inside it.

While there are so many interesting pages inside it, seems like everybody made a magazine clutch out of the cover of the magazine. The composition of pictures and typography (of title and paragraphs) was something interesting to be exposed for me. So I decided to pick up some interesting pages to be my… magazine clutch.

And now… let me share the processes that I’ve been through. Starting from the materials;

A clear vinyl document cover

Image

Some sheets of my selected pages

Image

Some felts

Image

A ruler, cutter, scissor, and a few types of glue (I used the FOX one to glue all that will stick on the clear vinyl, I used the PRONTO to glue on felt).Image

a few centimeters of Velcro

Image

So I started with measured the wide and length of the vinyl bag, than I cut the magazine page based on that measurement, and slipped the page in the vinyl bag.

Image

I spread some glue on the wrong side of the vinyl.

Image

I lay down the felt fabric on the vinyl and let it dry completely.

Image

I trim the excess.

Image

I cut a twin of felt in a window shape like so…

Image

I managed the that sheet to be a purse shape, held it with some binder clips.

Image

I putted some glue on one of the edges, continued with the opposite edge and ended with the bottom edge.

Image

Image

Image

By this point, that was the look that I got.

Image

I putted some thing that fitted inside the purse than I managed the position of the velcro and finally glued the velcro in the middle of the purse.

Image

Image

And … here we go! My very own … magazine clutch.

Image

Image

Image

Actually I have made … TWO πŸ˜‰

Image

Image

Image

I really satisfied with the way it turned out. It’s a simple touch of a casual day.

Image

And even a good detail on a night out. I held it while I wore my Huipil (Mayan traditional dress for women). The dress was a precious gift from my precious Mexican friend. The pictures taken when I was ready to attend the ASIA TRI Intl DANCE FESTIVAL 2014.

Image

Image

Image

Β So, darlings… I’ll see you next week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

9 thoughts on “DIY Magazine Clutch

  1. Queen Christine says:

    love and greetings from the lovely philippine island. πŸ™‚ very nice clutch bag and pretty maker model. πŸ™‚

    • heyyyy…. big thanks and many hugs from a sunny Yogyakarta’s village.
      This blog got one beautiful pinoy reader. Thank you for stopped by mbak Titinnnnn…
      πŸ˜€

  2. Indies says:

    Mba, pembungkus plastiknya bisa beli dimana ya? Itu kaya map gitu kah? Kalo mau beli bilangnya cari apa ya? Ga kebayang soalnya, padahal pengen nyobain bikin hehe :’)

    • Aduh kalo di Jogja sih di toko2 buku kecil juga ada. Biasanya dipake untuk cover sertifikat mbak. Coba deh tanya plastik cover sertifikat, gitu. Semoga ketemu ya mbak. Biar bisa langsung nyoba bikin. πŸ™‚ Good luck.

Leave a Reply

