FUN SEWING | My Very First A-Line Skirt

image

It was started when I watched ‘Populaire’ and (again) falling in love with those skirts of Rose’s. It is fun to see the era when peoples are so lavish with fabrics and girls swings their skirts. The other thing is, I never made a skirt with a pattern before. And since I’m in a serious sewing learning now, Iย  got so excited to have more and more pattern.

Than I continued with finding for the best tutorial. I was so amazed, some people made a very easy tutorial on a circle skirts. Unfortunately, that ‘radius’ method is not very flexible with all fabric size that available in your house. Most of the fabrics in Indonesia comes in 1,25meter wide. If you fold it twice, with different directions, you might not get a skirt that fall under your knees (which my favorite). Fortunately, I found the solution on this video of Q2HAN. See how she made the skirt part of the dress? That’s the basic idea on how I made my skirt.

I was actually planned to make a circle skirt, but since I don’t have fabric, I ended made an A-Line skirt. The good news is, using this method, you can make an A-line skirt or a circle skirt, depends on your available fabrics (I’ll explain about it in the step by step pictures). No formula, just your waist measurement.

This was my processes:

image

image

Fold it twice… but in the SAME directions.

image

In this step, you can get a circle skirt by narrowing the curve. My fabric was not long enough to make it.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The next step (which I don’t have the pictures) is the invisible zipper application. Use this video tutorial if you are a first timer like me.

Finish it with hem the bottom edge. And this is my final A – line skirt.

image

image

I will tell you when I make a circle skirt out of this method. See you next week.

4 thoughts on “FUN SEWING | My Very First A-Line Skirt

Leave a Reply

